North Yorkshire

  • Council Control: Min Con
  • Conservatives 45
  • Labour 11
  • Liberal Democrats 13
  • Green 4
  • Other 17

North Yorkshire Independent 7, Independent unaffiliated 5, Conservative and Independent 3 (sit in the Conservative group), Liberal Party 1 (sits in the Liberal Democrat group), Social Justice Party 1. The most rural part of Yorkshire, including York itself, the Scarborough/Whitby/Filey coast area, the North York Moors and the Yorkshire Dales.

The Liberal Democrats gained Sowerby and Topcliffe from the Green Party at a byelection on 30 November. The Conservatives held Hutton Rudby and Osmotherley at a byelection on 28 September. John Cattanach (Cawood and Escrick) moved from North Yorkshire Independent to unaffiliated Independent in August 2023. Caroline Goodrick (Sheriff Hutton and Derwent) and Robert Heseltine (Skipton East and South) moved from Independent unaffiliated to Conservative and Independent; Andrew Williams (Ripon Minster and Moorside) moved from North Yorkshire Independent, in July 2023. Mike Jordan (Camblesforth and Carlton) moved from Conservative, and Mike Schofield (Harlow and St Georges) moved from Liberal Democrat, both to unaffiliated Independent in June 2023.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

County Hall, Northallerton DL7 8AD

01609 780780


Council Tax (Band D)