Labour defend all four

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
9 months ago / October 6, 2023

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Bolton: Kearsley ward, after the resignation of ‘One Kearsley’ councillor Paul Heslop. Term ends 2026.
  • Bolton: Westhoughton North and Hunger Hill ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Bernadette Eckersley-Fallon. Term ends May next year.
  • Derbyshire Dales: Norbury ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Tony Morley. Term ends 2027.
  • Doncaster: Rossington and Bawtry ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Barry Johnson. Term ends 2025.
  • Powys: Talybont-on-Usk division, after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Anita Cartwright. Term ends 2027.
  • North Yorkshire: Sowerby and Topcliffe division, after the resignation of Green Party councillor Dave Whitfield. Term ends 2027.

Dates for byelections

  • Doncaster: The byelection due in Rossington and Bawtry ward will be held on 16 November.
  • Lewisham: The byelection due in Deptford ward will be held on 9 November.

Other updates

  • Birmingham: The Department of Levelling Up has confirmed a five year intervention in the City Council.
  • Thurrock: The government’s intervention has moved into a new phase, with three Commissioners helping the council; Essex county council has ended its role.