Peace situation breaks out in Crawley

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
4 years ago / July 17, 2020

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Colchester: Prettygate ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Beverly Davies. Term ends 2023.
  • Leeds: Rothwell ward, after the death of Liberal Democrat councillor Carmel Hall. As her term was extended to 2021, no byelection will be held.
  • Lichfield: Summerfield and All Saints ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Bernard Brown. Term ends 2023.
  • Neath Port Talbot: Aberavon division, after the death of Labour councillor Steffan ap Dafydd. Term ends 2022.
  • North Tyneside: Preston ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Kate Osborne, now Member of Parliament for Jarrow. Term ends 2022.
  • West Sussex: Felpham division, after the death of Conservative county councillor Hilary Flynn. Her term would have ended in 2021 so no byelection will be held.

Dates for byelections

  • In England, all current vacancies which do not fill a term ending in 2021 will be held on 6 May 2021, the ordinary day for local elections. In Wales, all byelections will be held in a period between 1 February and 16 April 2021.
  • Scottish Borders: The byelection due in Leaderdale and Melrose ward will be held on 29 October.

Other updates

  • Crawley: The Labour and Conservative groups have struck an agreement on running the council up to elections next year. A minority Labour administration will continue but with a ‘confidence and supply’ arrangement with the Conservatives, sharing of committee chairs, and consultation with the opposition.