North Lanarkshire

  • Council Control: Min Lab
  • Conservatives 8
  • Labour 31
  • Liberal Democrats 0
  • Green 0
  • SNP 27
  • Other 10
  • Vacant 1

Independents 8, Alba 2. Mostly industrial area west of Glasgow; the divide between Roman Catholic and Protestant community in Airdrie and Coatbridge led to accusations against the former Monklands council. Also includes former steel-making centre of Ravenscraig.

Murdostoun has a vacant seat (held by an Independent). Lynne Anderson (Stepps, Chryston and Muirhead) and Shahid Farooq (Motherwell North) moved from Scottish National Party to Alba in March 2021. Tommy Morgan (Airdrie North) moved from Labour to Independent in March 2021. At byelections on 4 March, Labour gained Thorniewood from the Scottish National Party and Fortissat from an Independent elected for the Scottish National Party.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

Civic Centre, Windmillhill Street, Motherwell ML1 1AB

01698 302222


Council Tax (Band D)