• Council Control: Lab Mayor
  • Conservatives 0
  • Labour 69
  • Liberal Democrats 10
  • Green 4
  • Other 5
  • Vacant 3

Liberal Party 3, Independent 2. Seaport on the Mersey in the north-west; suffered deprivation, riots and political extremist infiltration in the 1980s but has since undergone much regeneration. Adopted a directly-elected Mayor in 2012 ??? Joe Anderson holds the post.

The Secretary of State is proposing to appoint Commissioners to assist in running the council. Croxteth has a double vacancy election on 6 May (held by Labour). Warbreck and West Derby wards have vacant seats (both held by Labour). Peter Mitchell (Croxteth) moved from Labour to Independent in February 2021. Mayor Joe Anderson stepped aside from his post in December 2020; Wendy Simon is acting Mayor.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

Dale Street, Liverpool L2 2DH

0151 233 3000


Council Tax (Band D)