South Derbyshire confusion

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
3 years ago / December 11, 2020

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Enfield: Chase ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Vicki Pite. Term ends 2022.
  • North Kesteven: Bassingham and Brant Broughton ward, after the resignation of NK Independent councillor Chris Spray. Term ends 2023.
  • South Derbyshire: Seales ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Andrew Brady. Term ends 2023.
  • South Oxfordshire: Didcot North East ward, after the resignation of Independent councillor Simon Hewerdine. Term ends 2023.
  • Trafford: Longford ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Anne Duffield. Term ends 2023.

Dates for byelections

  • In England, all current vacancies which do not fill a term ending in 2021 will be held on 6 May 2021, the ordinary day for local elections. The Cabinet Office has confirmed that local elections teams should not plan on this date being brought forward. In Wales, all byelections will be held in a period between 1 February and 16 April 2021.
  • Denbighshire: The byelection due in Corwen division will be held on 18 February 2021.

Other updates

  • Liverpool: Following his arrest, Mayor Joe Anderson has agreed to step aside from the role. He will retain the post of Mayor, but Deputy Mayor Wendy Simon will be in charge.