May election postponed special

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
4 years ago / March 13, 2020

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • Ashford: The byelection in Park Farm North ward held on 12 March was won by Trish Cornish. Ashford Independents gain from Conservative.
  • Highland: The byelection in Eilean a’ CheĆ³ ward held on 12 March was won by Calum Munro, who was an Independent candidate and succeeds a retiring Independent councillor.
  • South Somerset: The byelection in Parrett ward held on 12 March was won by Ollie Patrick. Liberal Democrat hold.
  • Stratford-on-Avon: The byelection in Welford on Avon ward held on 12 March was won by Manuela Perteghella. The Liberal Democrats take a seat previously held by an Independent.
  • Wiltshire: The byelection in Till and Wylye Valley division held on 10 March was won by Kevin Daley. Conservative hold.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Copeland: Whitehaven Central ward, after the disqualification of Labour councillor Sean Cullen. Term ends 2023.
  • Forest of Dean: Berry Hill ward, after the resignation of Independent Alliance councillor Michelle Mumford. Term ends 2023.
  • Gravesham: Westcourt ward, after the death of veteran Labour councillor Colin Caller. Term ends 2023.
  • Scottish Borders: Leaderdale and Melrose ward, after the death of Scottish National Party councillor Kevin Drum. Term ends 2022.

Dates for byelections

  • Aberdeen: The byelection due in Kincorth/Nigg/Cove ward will be held on 14 May.
  • Cheshire East: The byelection due in Crewe West ward will be held on 23 April.
  • Copeland: The byelection due in Whitehaven Central ward will be held on 26 March.
  • Gravesham: The byelection due in Westcourt ward will be held on 16 April.
  • Leicester: The byelection due in North Evington ward will be held on 16 April.
  • Newport: The byelection due in Newport division will be held on 16 April.

Other updates

  • The elections due to be held on 7 May for councillors, Mayors and Police and Crime Commissioners, are to be postponed for a year because of the outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19). The government’s decision was announced on Friday afternoon after the Electoral Commission and the Association of Electoral Administrators wrote urging a delay; the expected peak of the infection coincides with polling day. The delay will need primary legislation, and the effect on byelections and other factors such as local government reorganisation in Buckinghamshire and Northamptonshire is not yet clear.