South Lanarkshire

  • Council Control: Min SNP
  • Conservatives 13
  • Labour 17
  • Liberal Democrats 3
  • Green 0
  • SNP 25
  • Other 6

Independent Group 6. Begins at Rutherglen, south-eastern suburb of Glasgow; includes new town of East Kilbride, Hamilton, and several market towns in the Lanark Hills. New Lanark mill is where Robert Owen pioneered business on cooperative principles.

The Scottish National Party regained a seat in East Kilbride Central North at a byelection on 29 August. Fiona Dryburgh (East Kilbride South) moved from Labour to Liberal Democrat in August 2019. Mark McGeever (Hamilton West and Earnock) moved from Conservative to Liberal Democrat in July 2019.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

Almada Street, Hamilton ML3 0AA

01698 454444


Council Tax (Band D)