Planning a split in South Oxfordshire

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
3 years ago / December 25, 2020

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Bradford: Keighley Central ward, after the death of Labour councillor Abid Hussain. Term ends 2022.
  • Braintree: Witham South ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Ron Ramage. Term ends 2023.
  • Oxford: Hinksey Park ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Alex Donnelly. His term would have ended in May so he will not be replaced in a byelection.
  • Peterborough: Hargate and Hempsted ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Janet Goodwin. Her term had been extended to May next year so no byelection will be held.
  • Sheffield: Richmond ward, after the death of Labour councillor Peter Rippon. Term ends 2022.
  • Torfaen: Abersychan division, after the death of Independent group councillor Raymond Williams. Term ends 2022.

Dates for byelections

  • In England, all current vacancies which do not fill a term ending in 2021 will be held on 6 May 2021, the ordinary day for local elections. The Cabinet Office has confirmed that local elections teams should not plan on this date being brought forward. In Wales, all byelections will be held in a period between 1 February and 16 April 2021.
  • Argyll and Bute: The byelection due in Isle of Bute ward will be held on 18 March.