Argyll and Bute

  • Council Control: LD/Ind/Con
  • Conservatives 9
  • Labour 0
  • Liberal Democrats 5
  • Green 0
  • SNP 11
  • Other 9
  • Vacant 2

Independents in ruling group 4, Argyll and Bute First 2 (this group also includes one Conservative), non-aligned 2, Independence for Scotland 1 (in ruling group). The southernmost of the inner Hebrides, down to the Kintyre peninsula. The administration is known as 'The Argyll, Lomond and the Islands Group'.

There are byelections on 18 March 2021 in Helensburgh and Lomond South (held by the Liberal Democrats) and Isle of Bute (held by an Independent). Roddy McCuish (Oban South and the Isles) moved from Independent to Independence for Scotland Party in January 2021.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

Kilmory, Lochgilphead PA31 8RT

01546 602127


Council Tax (Band D)