East Devon

  • Council Control: Democratic Alliance (LD/Ind/Green)
  • Conservatives 15
  • Labour 1
  • Liberal Democrats 18
  • Green 2
  • Other 24

Independents in Democratic Alliance Group with the Liberal Democrats and Green Party 11, Independent Group 10, Independent Councillor Group 2 (including one from the Liberal Party), ungrouped Independent 1. Based around Sidmouth, Exmouth and Honiton. The council is in a shared services arrangement with South Somerset, sharing a chief executive.

The Conservatives held Exmouth Brixington at a byelection on 2 May. Del Haggerty (Seaton) moved from Conservative to Independent/Democratic Alliance in May 2024. Bethany Collins (Ottery St Mary) moved from Labour to Independent in Democratic Alliance group in April 2024. Daniel Wilson (Exmouth Halsdon) moved from Labour to ungrouped Independent in March 2024. Alasdair Bruce (Feniton) moved from Conservative to Independent group in February 2024.

Next local elections

Election cycle

Local authority type

Blackdown House, Border Road, Heathpark Industrial Estate, Honiton EX14 1EJ

01395 516551


Council Tax (Band D)

Upper tier authority

Neighbouring Councils