The Leith Police dismisseth us

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
5 years ago / April 12, 2019

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • Burnley: The byelection in Rosehill with Burnley Wood ward on 11 April was won by Peter McCann. The Liberal Democrats regain a seat lost to the Burnley and Padiham Independent Party when the outgoing councillor defected.
  • Edinburgh: The byelection in Leith Walk ward on 11 April was won by Rob Munn. Scottish National Party gain from Labour.
  • Lambeth: The byelection in Thornton ward on 11 April was won by Nanda Manley-Browne. Labour hold.
  • Merthyr Tydfil: The byelection in Cyfarthfa division on 11 April was won by Michelle Jones, who stood as an Independent candidate and succeeds another Independent.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancy

  • Ceredigion: Llanbadarn Fawr division, after the death of Plaid Cymru councillor Paul James. Term ends 2022.

Postponed poll

  • Tendring: The election in St Osyth ward has been postponed from 2 May to 23 May, following the death of Anita Bailey who had been nominated for the Conservative Party.