Conservatives win. Please RT

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
5 years ago / February 15, 2019

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Burnley: Rosehill with Burnley Park ward, after the resignation of Burnley and Padiham Independent councillor Christine White, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat. Term ends 2020.
  • Herefordshire: Ross North ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Jenny Hyde. Her term would have ended in May so no byelection will be held.
  • Norfolk: Wroxham division, after the resignation of Conservative county councillor Tom Garrod. Term ends 2021.
  • Northumberland: Holywell division, after the death of veteran Labour councillor Bernard Pidcock. Term ends 2021.
  • Sutton: Wallington North ward, after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Joyce Melican due to ill health. Term ends 2022.

Dates for byelections

  • Newcastle-under-Lyme: The byelection due in Holditch and Chesterton ward will be held on 21 March.
  • Southend-on-Sea: The byelection due in Milton ward will be held on 21 March.
  • Sutton: The byelection due in Wallington North ward will be held on 28 March.
  • Thurrock: The byelection due in Aveley and Uplands ward will be held on 21 March.

Other updates

  • Sandwell: Steve Eling has stood down as council leader following his suspension from holding office by the Labour Party. He had resisted the move but the Labour group had elected a new leader and was preparing to remove him from office.