“Let me draw your attention to Bexhill-on-Sea, the 10th inst.”

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
5 years ago / January 11, 2019

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • East Sussex: The byelection in Bexhill West division held on 10 January was won by Deirdre Earl-Williams, who was an Independent candidate; she succeeds her late husband Stuart Earl, who was also an Independent.
  • Rother: The byelection in Bexhill St Marks ward held on 10 January was won by Kathy Harmer. She stood as an Independent candidate and succeeds another Independent councillor.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Croydon: Norbury and Pollards Hill ward, after the death of veteran Labour councillor Maggie Mansell. Term ends 2022.
  • Gloucestershire: Churchdown division, after the death of Liberal Democrat county councillor Jack Williams, who was only 28. Term ends 2021.
  • City of London: Matthew Richardson has surrendered the office of Alderman for Billingsgate ward. Term ends 2025.
  • Taunton Deane: Pyrland and Rowbarton ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Thomas Davies. As his term would have ended in April, he will not be replaced in a byelection.
  • Vale of Glamorgan: Rhoose division, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Matt Lloyd. Term ends 2022.
  • Wokingham: Evendons ward, after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Helen Power. Term ends 2022.

Dates for byelections

  • City of London: The wardmote for Billingsgate ward will be held on 30 January, with the election for Alderman on 31 January if the post is contested.
  • Vale of Glamorgan: The byelection due in Rhoose division will be held on 14 February.
  • Wokingham: The byelection due in Evendons ward will be held on 7 February.