Ashfield Independents up at Sutton Junction

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
6 years ago / December 14, 2018

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • Ashfield: The byelection in Sutton Junction and Harlow Wood ward held on 12 December was won by Matthew Relf. Ashfield Independents gain a seat previously held by an Independent councillor elected for Labour.
  • Dumfries and Galloway: The byelection in Dee and Glenkens ward on 13 December was won by Pauline Drysdale. Conservative hold.
  • Haringey: The byelection in West Green ward held on 13 December was won by Seema Chandwani. Labour hold.
  • Harlow: The byelection in Toddbrook ward held on 13 December was won by Frances Mason. Labour hold.
  • Corporation of London: Michael Mainelli was re-elected Alderman for Broad Street ward at the wardmote on 12 December.
  • Middlesbrough: The byelection in Brambles and Thorntree ward held on 13 December was won by Janet Thompson. Labour hold.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Cardiff: Ely division, after the death of Labour councillor Jim Murphy. Term ends 2022.
  • Stroud: Berkeley Vale ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Penny Wride. Term ends 2020.