Voters with a yellow streak

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
7 years ago / December 1, 2017

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • Gosport: The byelection in Bridgemary North ward on 30 November was won by Steve Hammond. Liberal Democrat gain from Labour.
  • Maidstone: The byelection in North ward on 30 November was won by Rob Field. Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.
  • Tandridge: The byelection in Westway ward on 30 November was won by Helen Rujbally. Liberal Democrat hold.
  • Torridge: The byelection in Torrington ward on 30 November was won by Cheryl Cottle-Hunkin. Liberal Democrat gain from an Independent elected for the UK Independence Party.

Change of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Eden: Hartside ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Sheila Orchard. Term ends 2019.
  • Nottingham: Wollaton West ward, after the death of the leader of the Conservative group, Georgina Culley. Term ends 2019.
  • Sutton: Stonecot ward, after the death of Liberal Democrat councillor Adrian Davey. As his term was due to end in May he will not be replaced in a byelection.
  • Teignbridge: Dawlish Central and North East ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Graham Price. Term ends 2019.

Date for byelection

  • Rochford: The byelection due in Downhall and Rawreth ward will be held on 18 January 2018.