Yscir campaign works

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
7 years ago / June 23, 2017

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • East Cambridgeshire: The byelection in Soham North ward on 22 June was won by Mark Goldsack. Conservative hold.
  • Powys: The election in Yscir division on 22 June was won by Iain McIntosh. The Conservatives win a seat previously held by an Independent where no candidate was nominated for the May election.
  • Sheffield: The byelection in Nether Edge and Sharrow ward on 22 June was won by Jim Steinke. Labour hold.
  • South Gloucestershire: The byelection in Winterbourne ward on 22 June was won by Nic Labuschagne. Conservative hold.
  • Stockton-on-Tees: The byelection in Yarm ward on 22 June was won by Tony Hampton. Conservative hold.

Changes of allegiance

  • Conwy: As a result of a disagreement between the Plaid Cymru group on the council and the party’s national executive, two members of the cabinet have chosen to retain office and leave the Plaid Cymru group. They are leader Gareth Jones (Craig y Don division) and Cabinet member for social care Elizabeth Roberts (Betws-y-Coed division).
  • North Norfolk: Georgie Perry-Warnes, who was elected for the Conservatives in Corpusty ward, has left the party to sit as an Independent Conservative councillor. She is critical of the council leadership.
  • Wakefield: Nick Farmer, who was elected for the UK Independence Party in Ossett ward, has left the party to sit as an Independent councillor.

New vacancy

  • Babergh: Sudbury South ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor David Holland who claims the leader reneged on a promise of a post. Term ends 2019.

Dates for byelections

  • Sevenoaks: The byelection due in Penshurst, Fordcombe and Chiddingstone ward will be held on 3 August.
  • Worthing: The byelection due in Marine ward will be held on 3 August.

Other updates

  • Conwy: Although the council group was happy with the arrangement, the Plaid Cymru National Executive has rejected the arrangement to form an administration with the Conservatives and an Independent. Two Plaid Cymru councillors have therefore left the administration; however the council leader and one other have retained office and left Plaid Cymru.