Alexander’s Clacton sand

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
7 years ago / April 7, 2017

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows. Note that the localcouncils website was updated this week with the council tax rates for 2017/18.


  • Aylesbury Vale: The byelection in Elmhurst ward on 6 April was won by Susan Morgan. Liberal Democrat gain from UK Independence Party.
  • Bath and North East Somerset: The byelection in Walcot ward on 6 April was won by Richard Samuel. Liberal Democrat hold.
  • Calderdale: The byelection in Hipperholme and Lightcliffe ward on 6 April was won by George Robinson. Conservative hold.
  • Tendring: The byelection in St James ward in Clacton on 6 April was won by Maurice Alexander. Conservative gain from a ‘Coastal Independent’ who had been elected for the UK Independence Party.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

Dates for byelections

  • Richmondshire: The byelection due in Reeth and Arkengathdale ward will be held on 18 May.
  • South Derbyshire: The byelection due in Woodville ward will be held on 11 May.
  • Wyre: The byelection due in Bourne ward will be held on 4 May.