Frisby veers to the right

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
9 years ago / January 16, 2015

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.

Changes of allegiance

New vacancies

  • Brent: Kenton ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Bhiku Patel. Term ends 2018.
  • Charnwood: Thurmaston ward, after the death of Labour councillor Ralph Raven. As the term was due to end in May, there will be no byelection.
  • Chelmsford: The Lawns ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Robert Burgoyne. As his term was due to end in May, there will be no byelection for a replacement.
  • Moray: Buckie ward, after the death of Independent councillor Joe MacKay. Term ends 2017.
  • Swansea: Cockett division, after the impending resignation of Labour councillor Mitch Theaker, who has been appointed to a new job in Dubai.
  • Vale of Glamorgan: Llantwit Major division, after the death of Keith Geary who was elected as a Llantwit First Independent. Term ends 2017.

Date for byelection

  • Shropshire: The byelection due in Oswestry East division will be held on 12 February.

Other updates

  • South Oxfordshire: As was widely reported, the council offices in Crowmarsh Giffard were destroyed by fire in the early hours of Thursday 15 January. The offices housed the council’s planning team, and also that of Vale of White Horse District Council which has a shared service agreement with South Oxfordshire. Planning services for both authorities are likely to be seriously disrupted for some time. Both councils’ websites are still offline at the time of writing.