The Tour de France is coming! Quick, vote out the Liberal Democrats

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
10 years ago / July 4, 2014

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


Changes of allegiance

  • Broadland: Carole Ward, who was elected for the Liberal Democrats in Taverham North ward, has left the party to sit as an Independent councillor.
  • Conwy: Mike Priestley, who was elected for the Liberal Democrats in Marl division, has joined the Labour Party. He remains cabinet member for highways.
  • Gwynedd: Louise Hughes, who was elected for Llais Gwynedd in Llangelynin division, has left the party and is sitting as an individual member.

New vacancies

  • Broadland: Wroxham ward, after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Steve Buckle. Term ends 2015.

Dates for byelections

  • Epping Forest: The byelection due in Broadley Common, Epping Upland and Nazeing ward will take place on 7 August.
  • Huntingdonshire: The byelection due in Warboys and Bury ward will take place on 7 August.
  • Malvern Hills: The byelection due in Wells ward will take place on 7 August.
  • Stroud: The byelection due in Valley ward will be held on 7 August.

Other updates

  • Hackney: An election petition against the result in King’s Park ward has been lodged by Vernon Williams, a defeated Independent candidate. The councillors for the ward are Sharon Patrick, Tom Rahilly and Rebecca Rennison (all three Labour).
  • Peterborough: This week Charles Swift (an Independent representing North ward) celebrated the sixtieth anniversary of his first election as a councillor. He has served continuously since then and is the longest serving councillor in Britain.