Double Liberal gain

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
10 years ago / July 25, 2014

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • Blackpool: The byelection in Clifton ward on 24 July was won by Luke Taylor. Labour hold.
  • Doncaster: The byelection in Edenthorpe, Kirk Sandall and Barnby Dun ward on 24 July was won by Paul Bissett. UK Independence Party gain from Labour.
  • Maidstone: The byelection in Staplehurst ward on 24 July was won by Paulina Watson. Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.
  • Northumberland: The byelection in Longhoughton division on 24 July was won by Kate Cairns. Liberal Democrat gain from Independent.
  • Reading: The byelection in Southcote ward on 24 July was won by Matthew Lawrence. Labour hold.
  • Rhondda Cynon Taf: The byelection in Aberaman North division on 24 July was won by Sheryl Evans. Labour hold.
  • Walsall: The byelection in Birchills-Leamore ward on 24 July was won by Chris Jones. Labour hold. Labour now has exactly half of the councillors and has called a special meeting of the council in the hope of removing the Conservative-led administration.
  • Windsor and Maidenhead: The byelection in Clewer North ward on 24 July was won by Wisdom Da Costa. Independent (West Windsor Residents’ Association) hold.

Changes of allegiance

  • Cheshire East: Roy Cartlidge, who was elected for the Labour Party in Crewe St Barnabas ward, has left the party to sit as a ‘West End Socialist Independent’ councillor following his deselection.

New vacancies

  • Blackpool: Waterloo ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Tony Lee. Term ends 2015.
  • Haringey: Woodside ward, after the death of Labour councillor Pat Egan. Term ends 2018.
  • Oxford: Quarry and Risinghurst ward, after the impending resignation of Labour councillor Laurence Baxter. Term ends 2016.
  • Shepway: Folkestone Harvey Central ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor David Johnson. Term ends 2015.

Dates for byelections

  • Shepway: The byelection due in Folkestone Harvey Central ward will take place on 4 September.