12 June was Independents’ day

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
10 years ago / June 13, 2014

The latest updates on local electoral information are as follows.


  • North Kesteven: Mark Suffield was elected councillor for Sleaford Quarrington and Mareham ward, and Steve Fields was elected councillor for Sleaford Westholme ward, on 12 June. Two Lincolnshire Independent gains from Independent.
  • Rother: Douglas Oliver was elected councillor for Collington ward on 12 June. Independent hold.

Changes of allegiance

  • Liverpool: Martin Cummins (Croxteth) has left the Labour Party following Ed Miliband’s decision to pose for a picture supporting The Sun newspaper.

New vacancies

  • Carlisle: Castle ward, after the death of Labour councillor Willie Whalen. Term ends 2015.
  • Charnwood: Thurmaston ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Paul Harley. Term ends 2015.
  • Cumbria: Castle division, after the death of Labour councillor Willie Whalen. Term ends 2017.
  • Doncaster: Edenthorpe, Kirk Sandall and Barnby Dun ward, after the resignation of Labour councillor Pat Hall. Term ends 2016.
  • Durham: Crook division, after the death of Eddie Murphy (Independent). Term ends 2017.
  • Epping Forest: Broadley Common, Epping Upland and Nazeing ward, after the death of Conservative councillor Penny Smith. Term ends 2015.
  • Newark and Sherwood: Ollerton ward, after the death of former council leader and current Labour group leader Stan Crawford. Term ends 2015.
  • Stroud: Valley ward, after the resignation of Molly Scott Cato (Green Party), now MEP-elect for South West region. Term ends 2015.

Dates for byelections

  • Cornwall: The byelection due in Mabe, Perranarworthal and St Gluvias division will take place on 17 July.
  • Redditch: The byelection due in Church Hill ward will take place on 17 July.
  • Walsall: The byelection due in Birchills-Leamore ward will take place on 24 July.

Other updates

  • Basildon: After the Conservatives lost majority control of the council, they have appointed two UK Independence Party members to the cabinet; they will serve without portfolio.
  • Brentwood: A coalition accord’ has been formed to run the council, between the Liberal Democrats, Brentwood First, Independent and Labour groups.
  • Hart: The council will now be run by an all party administration.
  • Havering: The Conservatives, who lost majority control in May, have formed a minority administration.
  • Maidstone: There will be a minority Conservative administration for the next year.
  • North East Lincolnshire: Labour, which lost majority control in the elections in May, will continue to run the council in a minority administration.
  • Thurrock: Labour have retained minority control of the council, after losing their majority on 22 May.
  • Tower Hamlets: An election petition was served this morning on the Mayor and the Chief Executive of the council, challenging the result of the election. The petitioners are four local government electors from different parties.
  • West Lancashire: The Conservatives will continue to run this borough, now evenly divided, after losing their overall majority. The Mayor, Conservative councillor Doreen Stephenson, has a casting vote.