Cliftonville hath a pleasant seat for UKIP

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
11 years ago / May 10, 2013

The latest information about local electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands


East of England



  • Barking and Dagenham borough council: Syed Ahammad was elected councillor for Longbridge ward on 9 May, holding the seat for the Labour Party.
  • Harrow borough council: The ruling Labour group has split, after group leader Thaya Idaikkadar (Roxeth ward) was deposed at its annual meeting last month. Idaikkadar has decided not to resign the leadership of the council and has instead formed an Independent Labour group, joined by eight other councillors previously in the Labour group: Husain Akhtar (Canons ward), who was elected as a Conservative but joined Labour in March; Nana Asante (Edgware ward); Mano Dharmarajah (Roxbourne ward); current Mayor Nizam Ismail (Queensbury ward); Krishna James (Marlborough ward); Zarina Khalid (Queensbury ward); Asad Omar (Headstone South ward); and Raj Ray (Roxeth ward). The split means that no party now has an overall majority. Idaikkadar, who remains Leader of the council until the future is resolved, has dismissed his cabinet. An extraordinary meeting of the council on 23 May has been summoned.


North East


North West


South East


South West


West Midlands


Yorkshire and the Humber





  • Argyll and Bute council: The council administration has been changed. While the Scottish National Party will continue to be the main administration party, and the Argyll and Bute Independent Group as well as certain individual Independent councillors will continue to be part of the administration, they will now joined by the Conservative and Liberal Democrat groups. The ‘For Argyll’ group of Independent councillors has gone into opposition. It is rumoured that the Scottish National Party leadership is not happy with the actions of their council group.
  • Edinburgh city council: Byelection on 20 June in Liberton and Gilmerton ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor Tom Buchanan. Term ends 2017.
  • Fife council: Byelection on 20 June in Glenrothes North, Leslie and Markinch ward after the death of Labour councillor Bill Kay. Term ends 2017.