Harrogate Lib Dems have Bilton success

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
11 years ago / December 17, 2012

The latest information about local electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England

  • Chelmsford city council: Vacancy in Broomfield and The Walthams ward after the death of the longest serving councillor, Delmas Ashford. Ashford was an Independent councillor for most of his career, except for 1999-2011 when he was a Conservative. Term ends 2015.
  • Fenland district council: Byelection on 17 January in Hill ward after the death of Conservative councillor Bruce Wegg. Term ends 2015.
  • Norfolk county council: Vacancy in North Coast division after the resignation of Stephen Bett, who has been elected Police and Crime Commissioner for Norfolk. He was elected as a Conservative but was sitting as an Independent at the time of his resignation. No byelection can be held because full council elections are due in May.
  • North Norfolk district council: Vacancy in Cromer Town ward after the death of Conservative councillor Keith Johnson, who had been Leader of the Council since May. The circumstances of his death have made national headlines. Term ends 2015.
  • Norwich city council: There are two byelections on Wednesday 19 December. Crome ward will elect a councillor after the resignation of Labour Party councillor and former Lord Mayor Jenny Lay, who is fighting cancer; the term ends in 2014. Nelson ward will elect a replacement after the resignation of Green Party councillor David Rogers, who has denounced his former party; the term ends in 2016.
  • Southend council: Dr Marimuthi Velmurugan, who was elected as an Independent in Westborough ward, has left the Independent group on the council, and will now be an unaligned councillor.


North East

North West

  • Wirral borough council: There are two byelections on 17 January 2013. The poll in Leasowe and Moreton East ward follows the death of Labour councillor Anne McArdle; term ends in 2014. The poll in Heswall ward follows the death of Conservative councillor Peter Johnson; the term there ends in 2016.

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • Highland council: Alex MacLeod, who was elected for the Scottish National Party in Landward Caithness ward, has left the party group to sit as an ‘Independent Nationalist’ after being reported to the Procurator Fiscal over discrepancies in his return of election expenses.
  • Moray council: Vacancy in Heldon and Laich ward after the resignation of Scottish National Party councillor Carolle Ralph, who has stepped down after becoming the victim of a hate-mail campaign. Term ends 2017.
  • North Lanarkshire council: Vacancy in Coatbridge West ward after the death of Labour councillor Tom Maginnis. Term ends 2017.
  • Scottish Borders council: Impending vacancy in Leaderdale and Melrose ward due to the resignation of the leader of the Borders Party, Nicholas Watson. Term ends 2017.
  • South Lanarkshire council: Byelection on 14 February in Rutherglen South ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor Anne Higgins. Term ends 2017. Her death means that Labour now has exactly half of the seats and would gain overall control of the council if a Labour councillor was elected in the byelection.