Independents win in Dysynni-land

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
12 years ago / June 15, 2012

The latest information about local electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England


North East

North West

  • Carlisle city council: Byelection on 21 June in Harraby ward after the death of Labour councillor Dave Weedall who was the longest serving councillor in the City. Term ends 2014.
  • Fylde borough council: Byelection on 5 July in Heyhouses ward after the resignation of Conservative councillor Peter Wood. Term ends 2015. His resignation removes, at least temporarily, the Conservative overall majority.
  • Liverpool city council: There are two byelections on 5 July. Allerton and Hunts Cross ward will elect a councillor after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Vera Best, who has since died. Riverside ward will elect the councillor successor of Joe Anderson, the Labour Party group leader, who was elected Mayor in May. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Oldham borough council: Norman Briggs was elected councillor for Failsworth East ward on 14 June; he retains the seat for the Labour Party.

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber


  • Denbighshire county council: An election petition has been lodged challenging the election of Allan Pennington (Conservative) in Prestatyn North division. The returning officer has admitted that the result as declared was incorrect as Pennington was counted as receiving votes actually given for Paul Penlington (Labour), who should have been elected. The high court is likely now to declare Pennington’s election undue and to seat Penlington.
  • Gwynedd county council: Beth Lawton, who stood as an Independent, was elected councillor for Bryncrug/Llanfihangel division on 14 June. Her win means that Plaid Cymru will not have an overall majority on the council. No candidates were nominated for the seat at the full council elections in May but it had been represented by an Independent councillor in the previous term.
  • Isle of Anglesey county council: There are two vacancies. Llanbedrgoch division is vacant after the resignation of unaffiliated councillor Barrie Durkin who was suspended from the council. Gwyngyll division is vacant after the resignation of John Penri Williams of Plaid Cymru. Both terms end in 2013.
  • Vale of Glamorgan council: Vacancy in Buttrills division after the death of former council leader, Mayor and Labour councillor Margaret Alexander. Term ends 2017.


  • No updates this week.