Six Liberal Democrat councillors leave in a week

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
12 years ago / May 18, 2012

The latest information about local electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England


North East

North West

  • Carlisle city council: Byelection on 21 June in Harraby ward after the death of Labour councillor Dave Weedall who was the longest serving councillor in the City. Term ends 2014.
  • Cumbria county council: Byelection on 24 May in Aspatria and Wharrels division after the resignation of Conservative councillor Mike Johnson who has become an employee of the council and would have been disqualified. Term ends 2013.
  • Liverpool city council: There are two vacancies. Allerton and Hunts Cross ward has a vacant seat after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Vera Best, who has since died. Riverside ward has a seat vacant due to the disqualification of Joe Anderson, the Labour Party group leader, who was elected Mayor. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Oldham borough council: Byelection on 14 June in Failsworth East ward after the death of Labour councillor Barbara Dawson. Term ends 2014.
  • Pendle borough council: The Conservatives and Liberal Democrats have agreed to form a ‘shared executive’ under a Conservative Leader and Liberal Democrat deputy leader.

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber