Canons to the right of them in Harrow

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
13 years ago / June 3, 2011

The latest information about local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

  • Broxtowe borough council: An election petition has now been lodged by Bob Charlesworth (Liberal Democrat) against the election of his wife Hazel Charlesworth (Liberal Democrat) for Eastwood North and Greasley (Beauvale) ward. The petition follows the discovery that a mistake by the Returning Officer led to their voting totals being switched round.
  • Derbyshire county council: Byelection on 16 June in Eckington division after the resignation of Labour councillor Steve Pickering, who has taken a politically restricted post. There will then be a byelection on 7 July in Sawley division after the death of veteran Independent councillor Bill Camm. Both terms end in 2013.
  • Derbyshire Dales district council: Byelection on 23 June in Stanton ward after the sole candidate nominated for the full council elections withdrew. Term ends 2015.
  • Mansfield district council: Vacancy in Park Hall ward after the death of Labour councillor Dorothy Beastall just a day after she was re-elected. Term ends 2015.
  • North West Leicestershire district council: An election petition has been lodged against the election of the leader of the council Richard Blunt (Conservative), as councillor for Appleby ward. The petition alleges that Blunt’s nomination papers falsely claimed he occupied land within the district when the address listed was let out as flats. Blunt disputes the allegation and has said he did live in the house. The petitioner had stood as an Independent candidate in the ward.
  • Rushcliffe borough council: Polling in Manvers ward has been postponed from 5 May to 16 June after the death of sitting Conservative councillor Wally Smith, who was a candidate for re-election.
  • South Kesteven district council: The election in Deeping St James ward has been postponed from 5 May to 23 June after the death of sitting Liberal Democrat councillor Ken Joynson.

East of England


  • Harrow borough council: Amir Moshenson was elected councillor for Canons ward at the byelection on 2 May, holding the seat for the Conservative Party. There is an impending vacancy in Stanmore Park ward as Conservative councillor Mark Versallion is likely to resign following his election to Central Bedfordshire council where he is now a cabinet member. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea: There are two byelections on 9 June, both due to the deaths of Conservative councillors. They are Dr Iain Hanham (husband of former council leader and now Government minister Baroness Hanham) in Brompton ward, and Andrew Dalton in Queen’s Gate ward. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Southwark borough council: Byelection on 7 July in Peckham ward after the death of the Mayor of Southwark, Tayo Situ, who was a Labour councillor. Term ends 2014.
  • Wandsworth borough council: Byelection on 30 June in Thamesfield ward due to the resignation of council leader Edward Lister, who has been appointed Chief of Staff to Boris Johnson and Deputy Mayor for Planning. Term ends 2014.

North East

  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne city council: Two wards have had their elections postponed from 5 May to 16 June due to the deaths of candidates. They are Byker (where the sitting councillor is Labour) and Westerhope (where the Liberal Democrat candidate Neil Hamilton died on polling day).

North West

  • Cheshire East council: The election in Crewe South division has been postponed to 16 June after the death of Betty Howell, a sitting Liberal Democrat councillor who was seeking re-election.

South East

  • Isle of Wight council: Byelection on 23 June in Binstead and Fishbourne ward after the death of Conservative councillor Ivan Bulwer. Term ends 2013.
  • Wokingham council: Vacancy in Remenham, Wargrave and Ruscombe ward after the resignation of Conservative councillor Claire Stretton, who has moved to Maidenhead and was elected as a councillor for Boyn Hill ward on the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead earlier this month. Term ends 2012.

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • Aberdeen city council: Byelection on 23 June in Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee ward after the resignation of Scott Cassie, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat but sitting as an Independent after being charged with fraud. Term ends 2012.
  • Dumfries and Galloway council: Byelection on 16 June in Abbey ward after the resignation of Conservative Party councillor Michael Thomson.
  • Falkirk council: Byelection on 9 June in Bo’ness and Blackness ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor John Constable. Term ends 2012.
  • Highland council: Byelection in Tain and Easter Ross ward on 9 June, after the death of Alan Torrance who was elected as an Independent but had joined the Scottish National Party group. Term ends 2012.