Sing as we go, as Labour captures Rochdale …

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
13 years ago / May 13, 2011

The latest information about local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England


  • Corporation of London: Robert Howard was elected councillor for Lime Street ward on 10 May, and Alex Deane was elected councillor for Farringdon Without ward on 11 May. The council is non-partisan, although Alex Deane is an active Conservative Party member.
  • Harrow borough council: Byelection on 2 June in Canons ward after the death of veteran Conservative councillor John Cowan. Term ends 2014. Meanwhile Stanley Sheinwald, who was elected for the Conservatives in Hatch End ward, has left the group to sit as an Independent.
  • Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea: There are two byelections on 9 June, both due to the deaths of Conservative councillors. They are Dr Iain Hanham (husband of former council leader and now Government minister Baroness Hanham) in Brompton ward, and Andrew Dalton in Queen’s Gate ward. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Southwark borough council: Vacancy in Peckham ward after the death of the Mayor of Southwark, Tayo Situ, who was a Labour councillor. Term ends 2014.
  • Wandsworth borough council: Impending vacancy in Thamesfield ward (to take effect on 18 May) due to the resignation of council leader Edward Lister, who has been appointed Chief of Staff to Boris Johnson and Deputy Mayor for Planning. Term ends 2014.

North East

  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne city council: Two wards have had their elections postponed from 5 May to 16 June due to the deaths of candidates. They are Byker (where the sitting councillor is Labour) and Westerhope (where the Liberal Democrat candidate Neil Hamilton died on polling day).

North West

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • Aberdeen city council: Byelection on 19 May in Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone ward after the death of veteran Liberal Democrat councillor Ron Clark. There is another byelection on 23 June in Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee ward after the resignation of Scott Cassie, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat but sitting as an Independent after being charged with fraud. Both terms end 2012.
  • Dumfries and Galloway council: Byelection on 16 June in Abbey ward after the resignation of Conservative Party councillor Michael Thomson.
  • Falkirk council: Byelection on 9 June in Bo’ness and Blackness ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor John Constable. Term ends 2012.
  • Highland council: Byelection in Tain and Easter Ross ward on 9 June, after the death of Alan Torrance who was elected as an Independent but had joined the Scottish National Party group. Term ends 2012.