Green Party gets a share of power in Lancaster

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
13 years ago / May 27, 2011

The latest information about local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

  • Derby city council: The Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition on the council will continue for another year, although under a new Conservative leader after the former leader Harvey Jennings (Spondon ward) was charged with assault. Jennings has been suspended by the Conservative group.
  • Derbyshire county council: Byelection on 16 June in Eckington division after the resignation of Labour councillor Steve Pickering, who has taken a politically restricted post. There is also a vacancy in Sawley division after the death of veteran Independent councillor Bill Camm. Both terms end in 2013.
  • Derbyshire Dales district council: Byelection on 23 June in Stanton ward after the sole candidate nominated for the full council elections withdrew. Term ends 2015.
  • Mansfield district council: Vacancy in Park Hall ward after the death of Labour councillor Dorothy Beastall just a day after she was re-elected. Term ends 2015. Meanwhile Mick Colley, who was elected for the Labour Party in Bull Farm and Pleasley Hill ward, has left to establish the “March 2011, Labour Group” on the council.
  • Rushcliffe borough council: Polling in Manvers ward has been postponed from 5 May to 16 June after the death of sitting Conservative councillor Wally Smith, who was a candidate for re-election.
  • South Kesteven district council: The election in Deeping St James ward has been postponed from 5 May to 23 June after the death of sitting Liberal Democrat councillor Ken Joynson.

East of England


North East

North West

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • Aberdeen city council: Byelection on 23 June in Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee ward after the resignation of Scott Cassie, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat but sitting as an Independent after being charged with fraud. Term ends 2012.
  • Dumfries and Galloway council: Byelection on 16 June in Abbey ward after the resignation of Conservative Party councillor Michael Thomson.
  • Falkirk council: Byelection on 9 June in Bo’ness and Blackness ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor John Constable. Term ends 2012.
  • Highland council: Byelection in Tain and Easter Ross ward on 9 June, after the death of Alan Torrance who was elected as an Independent but had joined the Scottish National Party group. Term ends 2012.