Grand post-election roundup

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
13 years ago / May 8, 2011

Following local elections in most English local authorities outside London, the latest information about local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England


  • Corporation of London: There are two byelections on this non-partisan council. Lime Street ward will hold a wardmote on 9 May and polling on 10 May to fill a seat vacated by the resignation of Deputy Christine Cohen; Farringdon Without ward will be holding a wardmote on 10 May and polling on 11 May to fill a seat vacated by the death of Michael Farrow. Both terms end 2013.
  • Harrow borough council: Byelection on 2 June in Canons ward after the death of veteran Conservative councillor John Cowan. Term ends 2014.
  • Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea: There are two byelections on 9 June, both due to the deaths of Conservative councillors. They are Dr Iain Hanham (husband of former council leader and now Government minister Baroness Hanham) in Brompton ward, and Andrew Dalton in Queen’s Gate ward. Both terms end in 2014.
  • Southwark borough council: The Labour Party candidate, Rowenna Davis, was elected councillor for The Lane ward on 5 May, holding the seat for her party.
  • Wandsworth borough council: Impending vacancy in Thamesfield ward due to the resignation of council leader Edward Lister, who has been appointed Chief of Staff to Boris Johnson and Deputy Mayor for Planning. Term ends 2014.

North East

  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne city council: Two wards have had their elections postponed from 5 May due to the deaths of candidates. They are Byker (where the sitting councillor is Labour) and Westerhope (where the incumbent Liberal Democrat councillor Neil Hamilton died on polling day).
  • Stockton-on-Tees borough council: The council again has no party in overall control, but Labour are now the largest party. In the previous term Labour and the Conservatives were in coalition under a Conservative leader.

North West

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • Aberdeen city council: Byelection on 19 May in Dyce/Bucksburn/Danestone ward after the death of veteran Liberal Democrat councillor Ron Clark. There is also a vacancy in Airyhall/Broomhill/Garthdee ward after the resignation of Scott Cassie, who was elected as a Liberal Democrat but sitting as an Independent after being charged with fraud. Both terms end 2012.
  • Dumfries and Galloway council: Byelection on 16 June in Abbey ward after the resignation of Conservative Party councillor Michael Thomson.
  • Falkirk council: Vacancy in Bo’ness and Blackness ward after the death of Scottish National Party councillor John Constable. Term ends 2012.
  • Highland council: Byelection in Tain and Easter Ross ward on 9 June, after the death of Alan Torrance who was elected as an Independent but had joined the Scottish National Party group. Term ends 2012.