Bilston win endangers Wolverhampton coalition

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
14 years ago / July 30, 2010

The latest information about other local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England

  • Dacorum borough council: Byelection on 26 August in Aldbury and Wigginton ward, after the disqualification of Conservative councillor Mike Edwards who has failed to attend any meeting of the council in six months. Term ends May 2011.
  • Norwich city council: Byelections on 9 September in 13 separate wards. The disqualified incumbents, who may be defending their seats, are Labour councillors Jenny Lay (Crome ward), Brian Morrey (Catton ward), Mary Cannell (Lakenham ward), Linda Blakeway (Mile Cross ward), Sue Sands (Sewell ward), and James ‘Bert’ Bremner (University ward), Green Party councillors Howard Jago (Mancroft ward), Claire Stephenson (Nelson ward), Janet Bearman (Town Close ward) and Tom Llewellyn (Wensum ward), Liberal Democrats Brian Watkins (Eaton ward) and Joyce Divers (Thorpe Hamlet ward), and Conservative councillor Antony Little (Bowthorpe ward). Winners will have notional terms ending in 2014, dependent on whether planned boundary changes go ahead next year.


North East

North West

South East

South West

  • Bath and North East Somerset council: Liberal Democrat candidate Simon Allen was elected councillor for Radstock ward on 29 July, taking a seat previously held by an Independent.
  • Exeter city council: There will be byelections for 13 seats on 9 September. Twelve were vacated when the High Court quashed an order extending councillors’ terms. The incumbents, who may stand for re-election, are Liberal Democrats Stella Brock (St. David’s ward) and Ben Noble (Duryard ward), and Paul Smith (Alphington ward), Labour councillors Pete Edwards (Whipton Barton ward and group leader), Ian Martin (Mincinglake ward), Lesley Robson (Priory ward) and John Shepherd (Newtown ward), Conservatives Yolonda Henson (Polsloe ward and group leader), Margaret Baldwin (Cowick ward), and Ruth Smith (Pinhoe ward), plus Independent ex-Labour councillor Connel Boyle (Exwick ward) and Liberal councillor Chris Gale (Heavitree ward). The winners of the byelection will have notional terms ending in 2014, dependent on whether planned boundary changes go ahead next year. There will also be a byelection in Topsham ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Mark Starling; the term there will end in 2012.
  • Herefordshire council: Vacancy in St Nicholas ward, after the death of Independent councillor David Benjamin. Term ends May 2011.
  • Sedgemoor district council: Vacancy in Woolavington ward after the death of Labour group leader Roger Lavers. Term ends May 2011.
  • Teignbridge district council: Vacancy in Ipplepen ward after the death of Conservative councillor Victor Elliott. Term ends May 2011.

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber


  • Gwynedd county council: There are two vacancies. That in Seiont ward arises from the death of Independent councillor Bob Anderson. That in Bowydd and Rhiw ward arises from the resignation of Llais Gwynedd councillor Dafydd Hughes. Both terms end in 2012.


  • Edinburgh city council: Byelection on 9 September in Liberton and Gilmerton ward after the resignation of Labour councillor Ian Murray, now MP for Edinburgh South. Term ends 2012.