Coalition partners swap in Crowmarsh

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
14 years ago / June 4, 2010

The latest information about other local council electoral matters is as follows:

East Midlands

East of England


North East

North West

South East

  • Brighton and Hove council: Byelection on 8 July in St Peter’s and North Laine ward, after the resignation of Green group leader Keith Taylor who is to replace Caroline Lucas as Member of the European Parliament. Ms Lucas was elected to the United Kingdom Parliament last week and the European Parliament now prohibits ‘dual mandate’ members. Term ends 2011.
  • Guildford borough council: Vacancy in Pirbright ward after the death of Conservative councillor Mike Nevins. Term ends 2011.
  • Hastings borough council: The election of a councillor for Ore ward has been postponed until 17 June after the death of sitting Conservative councillor Roy Tucker who had been nominated for re-election.
  • Milton Keynes borough council: Two councillors have left the Liberal Democrat group to sit as Independents. They are Michael Barry (Newport Pagnell North ward) and Philip Gerrella (Bradwell ward).
  • South Oxfordshire district council: John Griffin of the Liberal Democrats was elected councillor for Crowmarsh ward on 3 June, gaining the seat from the Conservatives.
  • Surrey county council: Vacancy in Worplesdon division after the death of Conservative councillor Mike Nevins. Term ends 2013.
  • Wycombe district council: Byelection on 15 July in Greater Marlow ward after the disqualification of Conservative councillor Helen Wilkinson who has failed to attend any meeting in six months and whose leave of absence has expired. Term ends May 2011.

South West

  • East Dorset district council: Vacancy in Corfe Mullen South ward, after the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Stewart Hearn whose challenge for the leadership of his group was unsuccessful. Term ends 2011.

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber



  • No updates this week.