Forthcoming byelections

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / November 14, 2008

Here are the vacancies and forthcoming byelections:

20 November

27 November

4 December

11 December

  • East Ayrshire council: Ballochmyle ward, after the resignation of former Labour group leader Eric Jackson. Term ends 2011.
  • Fenland district council: Parsons Drove and Wisbech St Mary ward, after the resignation of Conservative councillor Phil Wait in protest at a licensing decision. Term ends 2011.
  • Hillingdon borough council: Northwood ward, after the disqualification of Ian Oakley who was given an 18-week suspended sentence for harassing members of the Liberal Democrats in Watford where he had been selected as Conservative candidate. Oakley had been expelled from the Conservatives and was sitting on the council as an Independent. Term ends 2010.
  • Corporation of London: Aldgate ward, after the resignation of John Holland. Should the nomination be opposed at the wardmote, the poll will be on the following day. Term ends March 2009.
  • Newark and Sherwood district council: Clipstone ward, after the death of Len Sprigg who was deputy leader of the Independent group. Term ends 2011.
  • North Ayrshire council: Kilbirnie and Beith ward, after the death of SNP councillor Craig Taylor. Term ends 2012.

18 December


Vacancies which will not be filled

The Local Elections (Ordinary Day of Elections in 2009) Order 2008 (SI 2008 No. 2857) provides that any vacancy notified after 7 November 2008 in a council due to have elections in 2009, or to be abolished will not be filled. These council vacancies will therefore not see a byelection.