Redcar turns yellow

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / October 3, 2008

In the byelections held on 2 October, the Liberal Democrats gained Kirkleatham ward on Redcar and Cleveland council from Labour, and Castle ward from the Conservatives on the about-to-be-abolished Oswestry borough council.

The Mayor of Leominster, Peter McCaull, won Leominster South ward on Herefordshire county council as an Independent candidate (he was supported by the Labour Party), taking the seat from the Conservative.

The Conservatives regained Bourne Abbey division on Lincolnshire county council, where their previous councillor had been an Independent before resigning. They also held Ruishton and Creech ward on Taunton Deane borough council, Teynham and Linsted ward on Swale borough council, West Ruislip ward on Hillingdon borough council and Witham West ward on Braintree district council.

Norman Bradbury, elected as a Labour councillor for Atherton ward on Wigan borough council, has left the party to join the Independent group on the council.