Byelection results

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / August 5, 2008

Over the past fortnight there have been 12 byelections.

On 24 July there was an almost clean sweep by the Conservatives, who gained seats at Coastal ward, Boston borough council and Church Street ward, Westminster city council, and held seats at Magnus ward, Newark and Sherwood district council, Castle Hill ward, Ipswich borough council, Hurstpierpoint and Downs ward, Mid Sussex district council, and Muxton ward, Telford and Wrekin council. The only ward to hold out was Darley ward, Derby city council, which was regained by the Liberal Democrats having previously been held by one of their members who had gone Independent.

No seats changed hands on 31 July. The Conservatives held seats at Louth Wolds division, Lincolnshire county council, Witnesham ward, Suffolk Coastal district council, and Pentyrch ward, Cardiff city council; the Liberal Democrats held Whickham South and Sunniside ward, Gateshead borough council, and Oadby Uplands ward, Oadby and Wigston borough council.