Forthcoming byelections

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / July 11, 2008

We have the forthcoming local government byelections in prospect:

17 July

24 July

31 July

  • Cardiff city council: Pentyrch ward, after the resignation of Simon Roberts (Conservative) due to ill health. He had only just been re-elected and the new councillor will serve until 2012.
  • Gateshead borough council: Whickham South and Sunniside ward, after the death of Alan Ord (Liberal Democrat). He had just been re-elected and his successor will inherit a term ending in 2012.
  • Lincolnshire county council: Louth wolds division after the death of Sheila Roy of the Conservative Party. The winner will have a term ending in May next year.
  • Oadby and Wigston borough council: Oadby Uplands ward, caused by the resignation of Dr S.M. Rizvi (Liberal Democrat). The new councillor serves until 2011.
  • Suffolk Coastal district council: Witnesham ward, following the resignation of Kate Waddell (Conservative). Her term would have ended in 2011.

7 August

14 August


The Conservatives have vacancies on Barrow borough council, Newbarns ward, due to the death of Colin Liversedge, on Cheshire county council and the new Cheshire East shadow unitary council following the death of Bert Grange who represented Knutsford division, on Shrewsbury and Atcham borough council, Pimhill ward, after the death of Brian Rees, and on Suffolk county council and Suffolk Coastal district council due to the resignation of Ben Redsell who represented Woodbridge Riverside ward on the district council and Woodbridge division on the county council.

There is a Labour held vacancy in Greenwich borough council, Plumstead ward, after the death of Kanta Patel.

Sedgefield district council‘s Sedgefield ward has a vacancy after the death of Independent councillor Jim Wayman.