Chadwell Heath goes Tory

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / July 4, 2008

The Conservatives gained the Barking and Dagenham borough council ward of Chadwell Heath in a byelection on 3 July, thereby doubling their representation on the council and allowing themselves to form a political group. The party also held on to Bexhill Sackville ward on Rother district council, and to Christchurch ward on Bexley borough council (where the sitting councillor resigned after becoming Boris Johnson’s Deputy Mayor).

In South Hornchurch ward of Havering borough council, an Independent took the seat left by Len Long of the local Residents Association. Labour retained Eckington division on Derbyshire county council and Killamarsh West ward on North East Derbyshire district council.

In another North East Derbyshire byelection, the Liberal Democrats took the Unstone ward which had previously been held by an Independent. They also retained both seats in Burgess Hill St Andrews ward of Mid Sussex district council.

Other recent byelections on 26 June saw the Conservatives gain Park ward on Blackpool borough council from Labour, while Labour gained Hatfield Central ward on Welwyn Hatfield district council from the Conservatives. The Conservatives also retained Diss ward of South Norfolk district council on Friday 27 June, and have retained Kirtlington ward of Cherwell district council on 4 July after no other candidate was nominated.