Forthcoming byelections

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / June 13, 2008

Here are the forthcoming local government byelections:

19 June

26 June

27 June (a Friday poll)

3 July

10 July

24 July


The Conservatives have vacancies on Ipswich borough council, Castle Hill ward, after the death of Harry Davies; on Lincolnshire county council, Louth wolds division after the death of Sheila Roy, and on Shrewsbury and Atcham borough council, Pimhill ward, after the death of Brian Rees.

My Westminster City Council colleague Tony Mothersdale, a Labour councillor for Church Street ward since a byelection in May 2000, died last week after a short illness. Tony was an extremely warm-hearted and generous man to work with, and made a real difference in the community where he lived and served.

There are Labour seats vacant in Barking and Dagenham borough council, Chadwell Heath ward, after the resignation of Sarah Baillie, on Hillingdon borough council, Townfield ward, following the death of Norman Nunn-Price, and on Wigan borough council, Wigan West ward, after the death of Michael Baines.

The Liberal Democrats have vacancies on Gateshead borough council, Whickham South and Sunniside ward, after the death of Alan Ord, and on Oadby and Wigston borough council, Oadby Uplands ward, caused by the resignation of one of the ward’s two councillors.

Sedgefield district council‘s Sedgefield ward has a vacancy after the death of Independent councillor Jim Wayman.