Forthcoming byelections

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / February 22, 2008

Here is the state of play on forthcoming local authority byelections.

28 February

6 March

13 March

20 March

3 April

1 May

The following elections are likely to be postponed until 1 May when this year’s round of local elections will take place. Where authorities have elections on 1 May, no byelection is held to fill vacancies where the new councillor would have a term less than six months.


There are known to be Conservative vacancies in Abbey division, Cheshire county council, after the resignation of Shirley Harris, in Morland ward of Eden district council, after the death of Derek Jackson, in Stowmarket North and Stowupland division, Suffolk county council after the resignation of Alastair Liddell, and in Water Park ward, Cotswold district council, following the resignation of Judith Aram.

Labour seats are vacant in Holmewood and Heath and Killamarsh West wards of North East Derbyshire district council, following the deaths of Terry Fisher and Colin Robinson respectively.

Brockworth division, Gloucestershire county council, is vacant following the resignation of Sean Connors of the Brockworth Residents Group. Sedgefield ward of Sedgefield borough council also has a vacancy caused by the death of Independent councillor Jim Wayman. The Scottish National Party have a vacancy in Troup ward, Aberdeenshire council, after the death of Mitchell Burnett.

No byelection

There are some seats vacant which will not be filled because the term of the councillor who caused the vacancy would have expired in May 2008.