Labour gain in Sandwell

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
16 years ago / January 25, 2008

Labour won the byelection in Newton ward, Sandwell borough council held yesterday, a seat previously held by the much respected Liberal Democrat leader Martyn Smith since 1980. In the other byelection, the Liberal Democrats gained Baughurst ward in Basingstoke and Deane borough council, which reduces the Conservative administration to relying on the Mayor’s casting vote.