Forthcoming byelections

Posted by David Boothroyd
View David's blog
17 years ago / February 16, 2007

Known byelections with dates fixed are:

22 February

  • Castle division (Cumbria County), held by the Liberal Democrats’ Geoff Hodgson until his death. This ward is in Carlisle, and the winner serves until 2009.
  • Illingworth and Mixenden ward (Calderdale Borough), which was held by Tom McElroy who was Leader of the Labour Group until his death in December 2006. The seat is for a term ending in 2008.

1 March

  • Pilgrims Hatch ward (Brentwood Borough), caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Sandra Roberts due to family circumstances. The successful candidate will serve until 2008. This is a three seat ward and the other two councillors are Liberal Democrats.

8 March

  • Speke-Garston ward (Liverpool City Council), caused by the resignation of Danny Hughes (Liberal Democrat). The winner serves until May 2008.
  • Long Buckby division (Northamptonshire County Council) where Richard Amos (Conservative) died in November. The winner serves until 2009.

22 March

  • Claygate ward (Elmbridge Borough) caused by the death of Hugh Ashton, leader of the Liberal Democrat group. The winner has his seat until 2008.
  • Sutton-in-Ashfield North division (Nottinghamshire County), caused by the death of Labour councillor Dick Anthony. This seat will be up again in 2009.